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No Document Questions Answers Reference

Fl 1 Floor Is it okay to perform different 

movements in a direction sequence  if 

you do them at the same time? For 

example; half of the team is doing 

three different movements and the 

rest of the team is doing three other 

movements.

For directions there is no requirement to perform the 

same elements. The team needs at least three different 

elements/movements in the same direction at the same 

time. So it is allowed to perform different movements 

between individual gymnasts while fulfilling the direction 

requirements.

Part III 24.4.4

Fl 2 Floor Showing additional flexibility does not 

affect the DV. If a team does a split 

leap with 135° but three gymnasts 

perform the element with 180° leg 

separation, will it still be counted as 

split leap 135°? Is it the same with 

HB805/HB1005?

Yes, the team will get the value for split leap 135°. This 

rule also applies to all jumps and standing balances with 

leg separation, HBX04, HBX05 and HBX06. However, such 

variations would be subject to uniformity deductions by 

the E Panel. 

Part III 23.1.4 e)

Fl 3 Floor Do chassés and hurdle steps count in 

the three step limit before acrobatic 

elements and leaps?

No, they are additional to the three steps. You can use up 

to three steps into a chassé or hurdle step before an 

element, or use steps before or after the chassé/hurdle 

that precedes an element but still no more than three 

steps. 

Part III 23.1.3

Fl 4 Floor For Difficulty Distribution (DD) at least 

three difficulty elements must  be 

performed after the time limit. In 

difficulty distribution it is mentioned 

that a D-element will be counted as 

part of DD if the element is 

performed, or the gymnasts have at 

least tried to perform the element. 

When is the element "tried to be 

performed"? What is required?

A gymnast must initiate the element sufficiently to show 

commitment to achieving the DV. The outcome is not a 

factor when determine a legitimate ‘attempt’ at the skill. 

A legitimate attempt is evaluated according to the 

difficulty requirements. An illegitimate attempt (not a 

serious try) is a zero D score for the team for that 

element.

E.g. take off for a salto that includes a jump and hip drive 

to initiate rotation but the salto fails to rotate enough 

and the gymnast lands hands and knees ✅ 

E.g. straight jump with no hip drive ❌ (not a valid 

attempt at a salto).

E.g. gymnast raises their leg for a balance but wobbles 

immediately and fails to get the free leg beyond 45 

degrees ✅ 

E.g. gymnast initiates a 540 pirouette with no attempt to 

raise the free leg while the rest of the team perform with 

the free leg at 540 ❌

E.g. gymnast initiated a pirouette but only achieves a 360 

while the rest of the team achieves a 720 ✅ 

Part III 22.2.4 b)

Fl 5 Floor Difficulty Distribution (DD) 

requirement: What happens if the 

team performs a balance that is not 

counted as a balance? 

If the D-element is a) Marked in the tariff and b) One of 

the 9 declared elements and c) Performed (or attempt to 

perform) after the time limit 1:30, the element will be 

counted as a part of the DD, no matter if the team will 

get the D-value or not.

Part III 22.2.4

Fl 6 Floor What does the general 15° tolerance 

mean when talking about straight 

legs?

In all those elements where straight legs is a difficulty 

requirement (D-elements and flexibility elements), it is 

allowed to bend the knees 15° and still get the full 

difficulty value (execution deductions still apply). If 

bending more than 15°, the DV will be reduced.

e.g. A4 1.1 f)

A4 1.3.1.2 b)

Fl 7 Floor What are the difficulty requirements 

in SB1201? The picture in A1 is not 

showing the right position or?

In SB1201 the leg separation must be 180° (15° 

tolerance), free leg on the side with a help of hand, upper 

body in upright position (tolerance 30°). The drawing in 

the A1 is only a guideline and does not show an accurate 

position.

A 1.2
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Fl 8 Floor All gymnasts must start the turn facing 

the same direction, according to the 

choreography. This requirement is 

only valid for pirouettes and not all 

types of dynamic balances?

Yes, it is valid only for pirouettes. This requirement is 

mentioned only under headline Pirouettes (not under 

Power Elements) which means it is valid only for 

pirouettes.

A4 1.3.1.1 d)

Fl 9 Floor In SBX07, how is the horizontal 

position measured? What is the 

allowed rotation of the torso?

The upper body must be horizontal, and the body 

position is measured from the upper side of the torso 

(see the red line in the picture). If the upper side of the 

torso is not horizontal >15° the DV is reduced. Upper 

body must not be twisted (>15°). Both the upper body 

and the leg must stay in the frontal plane* (door plane) 

during the balance.

*like standing flat to a wall

A1 SBX07

A5 6.2 

Fl 10 Floor Is it allowed to perform side split in 

Switch leap twisting (J1024 and 

J1224)?

No, in switch leaps (JX24) the first leg must swing 

forwards at least 45° (like in front split) before the leg 

change. Both legs need to be straight, no kick. Twist has 

to be fulfilled before showing the leg separation.

A1 J1024

J1224

Fl 11 Floor Requirements for straight body 

position 1.3.1.1 Dynamic Balances e) 

Handstand as a starting or ending 

position in power elements must have 

straight legs together and arms and 

hips straight. In e) there are no 

tolerances mentioned for the 

handstand as a starting and ending 

position. However, in Appendix A1 1B 

there is a tolerance for the arms (45). 

What about the hip and legs?

For handstand in Power elements the requirements for 

HB1001 (handstand) are used. See A4 1.3.1.3 c) (hip angle 

tolerance 15˚) and A5 1.5.3 (straight legs tolerance 15˚) 

A4 1.3.1.1

Fl 12 Floor 24.2 Execution Deductions to be 

summarised, what does it actually 

mean? Could you please provide some 

examples.

Deductions at any given time of the floor routine are 

summarised not accumulated. For example: A judge must 

decide if a nu+E10mber of minor faults should be 

represented as a moderate or a minor and make a 

deduction according to the table in CoP Part III section 

24.2  which best fits the performance of the team at that 

given moment. See further explanation in "Guidelines for 

judges". Available on the webpage in late May 2020. See 

the rules section, 

https://www.europeangymnastics.com/page/rules

Part III 24.2

Fl 13 Floor Do the gymnastic norms for TeamGym 

Tumble apply to acrobatic floor 

elements too?

For body shape, yes, but not for height. A4 1.3.3
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Tu 1 Tumble What is the effect on C-score and D-

score if a coach assists a gymnast to 

achieve an element?

The composition deductions will be taken according to 

Art 26 keeping in mind that the D-value of the assisted 

element is 0. (Note: Forward or Backward Round 

requirement can be made up from the other performed 

elements). 

Part III 26.4.2

Tu 2 Tumble If a full twist is not counted towards 

the D-value due to two other higher D-

value elements in the series, will it still 

be considered in Composition?

Yes. The full twist is counted towards C. The element is 

credited with D-value even if it is not counted towards D-

score of the series.

 Part III 26.2

Tu 3 Tumble If a gymnast does not perform the 

exact same series in the Team Round 

as the other gymnasts will the 

performed elements still be counted 

in Composition?

Yes, they are counted towards C. For example if one 

gymnast performs a double twist instead of the full twist, 

the twist requirement will be fulfilled as long as the 

element(s) are credited with D-value. This is the case 

even if the elements are not counted towards the D-score 

for the series. See also article 26.4.1 about repetition.

 Part III 26.3.1

Tu 4 Tumble 1st round: Forward round, If 5 

gymnasts perform straight 360° 

handspring straight 180° and 1 

gymnast runs through (no element). 

What happens to the C-score?

Missing Team Round (deduction 0.2), missing full twist if 

no other round with twist (deduction 0.2) and missing 

forward round if no other forward round (deduction 0.2).

Part III 26.3

Tu 5 Tumble What is the value for straight salto 

with half twist performed as a starting 

salto?

The value is based on the straight starting salto with an 

additional value for half twist (0.3 + 0.1), therefore 0.4

Part III 27.2

Tu 6 Tumble What will happen if a gymnast is 

putting the hands down in a straight 

salto with half twist?

Whether a gymnast is performing a salto or another 

element is assessed upon take off. If a gymnast takes off 

for a salto and aborts in mid air and puts their hands 

down it would be a fall not feet first. However, a 

conscious decision at take off to change to another non-

salto element should be re-evaluated for the tariff. 

Part III 27

Tr 1 Trampet How is the height and length defined 

for elements performed using the 

vaulting table?

The same height and length requirements are applied 

when performing elements on the vaulting table.

A5 4.2

A5 4.3

Tr 2 Trampet A double pike salto with half twist and 

a double salto with straight in first 

salto and piked with half twist in the 

second salto will be considered as a 

double pike with half twist in terms of 

difficulty. Can a team do both jumps in 

different rounds?

Yes. From a composition point of view these are different 

elements even if they are given the same D-value.

Part III 31.1 c) A4 

2.1.6.b)

Tr 3 Trampet On trampet vault, what is the effect 

on C-score and D-score if the gymnast 

does not place both hands on the 

vault?

The composition deductions will be taken according to 

Art 30 keeping in mind that the D-value for that gymnast 

is 0. (Note: the vault requirement, 30.4.4, itself is fulfilled, 

as the vault was put in place for the round). 

Part III 30

31.1.g.

Tu/Tr 1 Tumble/Trampet Is it OK for a coach to pull a gymnast 

out of the way after he/she has 

landed?

If a coach touches a gymnast after they have landed 

(whether under control or a fall) it is in general not seen 

as a support.

Also if the gymnast accidentally bumps to the coach after 

landing but the coach is passive and does not correct the 

gymnast's balance then there is also no deduction. 

However, if the coach prevents the fall then there should 

be a deduction for support.

Part III 28.2.11 

32.2.9

Tu/Tr 2 Tumble/Trampet Clarify when to make the deduction 

for Coaches' actions.

Touching the gymnast before landing is deductible in any 

case (0.8). If the coach deliberately helps the gymnast to 

achieve the element it is large deduction (1.5). This 

means that without the coach the gymnast would not be 

able to perform a valid element (with a credited D). No 

action in dangerous situation mainly in case of serious 

injury risk (neck, back, spine) is given 1.5 deduction.

A5 2.6

Tu/Tr 3 Tumble/Trampet Please clarify light touching of the mat 

in tumble and trampet.

Light touching (with hand or knee) means that the 

gymnast has contact with the mat without supportive 

weight on his hand or knee. 

Part III 28.2.8

32.2.7
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Tu/Tr 4 Tumble/Trampet What counts as loss of control in  the 

landing. Where is the limit?

Control is defined as a landing that controls the rotation 

of the centre of mass about the point of contact with 

mat, without sudden and forceful lunges. A step to create 

an area of support that brings the centre of mass into 

balance; natural rebound from the landing mats (not 

jumps) and continuing to walk out of the landing area 

(not continuing of momentum to maintain control) can all 

occur without deduction. 

Part III 28.2.8

32.2.7

Tu/Tr 5 Tumble/Trampet Coaches standing in for support are 

not allowed to wear items that can be 

a danger. Does it mean that you as a 

judge can ask the coach to take off for 

instance a watch or a lanyard? When 

do you deduct?

A coach standing in for support is not allowed to wear 

any item that can be a danger (lanyard, watch, jewellery, 

etc). These items are deductible by the HJ (E1) once the 

coach has stepped onto the landing mat in position for 

security spotting. The HJ will wait to raise the green flag 

until the item is removed. Judges are not supposed to 

make coaches aware of any items or warn them before 

they are ready to start.

Part I 8.22

8.6.3

32.6.3

Tu/Tr 6 Tumble/Trampet Body shape in saltos: There is only one 

deduction for the shape. How about 

double with different body shapes 

(piked+straight), will there be 1 or 2 

deductions if the shapes are not 

correct?

The deduction for shape in any given jump cannot exceed 

the maximum for shape (0.5). Whether deductions occur 

in the first or second salto or both, the maximum 

deduction for shape can not be exceeded. 

A5 2.1

Further questions can be submitted through the Contact us page.

https://www.europeangymnastics.com/discipline/teamgym/contact
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